Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home New Developments and Requirements
E-mail Print PDF

WHAT TO EXPECT FOLLOWING THE CLOSE OF THE 85TH LEGISLATURE, REGULAR SESSION

Please read the letter prepared by TSBEP Executive Director, Darrel D. Spinks, to learn about what you can expect following the failure of the Legislature to pass the Board's sunset bill.  You can read the letter by clicking here.

You can also read Governor Abbott's June 6th press release regarding the upcoming special session by clicking here.

Posted June 7, 2017


VOLUNTEERS NEEDED TO SERVE AS ORAL EXAMINERS

In response to the level of support shown for the Oral Examination during the current Sunset Review Process, the Board would like to take this opportunity to issue a call to those licensees willing to serve as an oral examiner and request that they review this document and submit the last page to the Board for approval to serve as an oral examiner.

Posted December 29, 2016


DFPS IS SEEKING NEW LPs, PLPs, AND LPAs FOR ITS EVALUATION AND TREATMENT PROGRAM

The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) has made changes to its evaluation and treatment services program and is looking to expand the number of providers available for Texas  families.  Some of these changes include reimbursement for travel to designated underserved areas of the state, as well as reimbursement for missed appointments.  If you are interested in becoming a service provider for DFPS, please click here to learn more about the DFPS evaluation and treatment program, as well as how to become a DFPS service provider.

Posted on December 28, 2016


TEXAS STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS ADOPTS PROPOSED REVISION TO SECTION 501.003

In response to Serafine v. Branaman, 810 F.3d 354 (5th Cir. Tex. 2016), the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists met on November 10, 2016 and adopted a revised version of Section 501.003 of the Psychologists' Licensing Act.  The Board's proposed revision to Section 501.003 is intended to address the court's concerns in that opinion, and has been submitted to the Sunset Advisory Commission in connection with the agency's review.  Members of the public may obtain a copy of the Board's proposed revision by clicking here.   

Posted on November 16, 2016


NEW LOWER FEE FOR APPLICANTS APPLYING THROUGH THE ASPPB PLUS PROGRAM

The Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists is excited to offer applicants the opportunity to apply for full or provisional licensure online via the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) Psychology Licensure Universal System (PLUS).  The PLUS program can be used by any applicant who is seeking licensure, certification, or registration in any participating state, province, or territory in the United States or Canada.  For more information on applying in Texas via the PLUS system, please click here.

To apply using the PLUS, download the PLUS System - General Application form by clicking on the Forms menu item to the left.  Complete and submit the application, along with the correct fee to the Board's Licensing Division.  In addition to the Texas application fee, the PLUS has a one-time $75.00* fee. *ASPPB is currently conducting fee assessments and has reduced the standard $200.00 fee to $75.00 for a six-month period in Texas. This fee assessment will conclude on February 15, 2017 and the PLUS fee is subject to change thereafter.

Posted on September 21, 2016