Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home How to Become Licensed
E-mail Print PDF

The Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists issues four types of licenses each of which has different requirements as set by the Psychologists' Licensing Act and Board rules.  The following are general overviews of the varying requirements for licensure.  Please refer to the Psychologists' Licensing Act and Board rules for complete requirements for licensure.

The application packet for each type of license may be downloaded from the Board's Forms webpage.


Licensed Psychologist (Independent Practice)

There are three paths for obtaining licensure as a psychologist under the Board's rules.

Board rule 463.11, Licensed Psychologist

  • Requires prior licensure as a Provisionally Licensed Psychologist (see below)
  • Requires passage of or exemption from the Oral Examination
  •  
  • Requires two years of supervised experience, at least one of which must have been received after the conferral or completion of the doctoral degree.
Board rule 463.12, Licensed Psychologist by Reciprocity
  • Requires proof the applicant has been actively licensed and in good standing in a jurisdiction with which Texas shares reciprocity during the five year period preceding the date of application
  • Requires proof that the applicant has not  received and that there are no pending disciplinary actions in another jurisdiction
  • Requires passage of the Jurisprudence Examination
Currently, Texas shares reciprocity with the following jurisdictions: Arkansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, Manitoba, and Ontario.
Board rule 463.13, Requirements for Licensed Out-of-State Applicants
  • Requires proof the applicant is actively licensed and in good standing in another jurisdiction
  • Requires prior licensure as a Provisionally Licensed Psychologist (see below)
  • Requires 3,000 hours of supervised experience, at least half of which  must have been completed after the doctoral degree was conferred or completed
  • Requires proof that the applicant has not  received and that there are no pending disciplinary actions in another jurisdiction
  • Requires passage of or exemption from the Oral Examination

Provisionally Licensed Psychologist (Supervision Required)

The requirements for provisional licensure are set forth in Board rule 463.10.

  • Requires a doctoral degree in psychology
  • Requires passage of the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology
  • Requires passage of the Jurisprudence Examination

Licensed Psychological Associate (Supervision Required)

The requirements for licensure as a psychological associate are set forth in Board rule 463.8.

  • Requires a graduate degree primarily psychological in nature
  • Requires passage of the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology
  • Requires passage of the Jurisprudence Examination
  • Requires 450 hours of practicum, internship, or experience in psychology under the supervision of a licensed psychologist

Licensed Specialist in School Psychology

The requirements for licensure as a specialist in school psychology are set forth in Board rule 463.9.

  • Requires completion of a training program in school psychology approved/accredited by the American Psychological Association or the National Association of School Psychologists, or a graduate degree in psychology with specified course work
  • Requires a formal internship of at least 1200 hours, of which 600 must be in a public school
  • Requires passage of the National School Psychology Examination
  • Requires passage of the Jurisprudence Examination

Licensure for Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses

Military service members, veterans, and spouses seeking to apply for licensure are encouraged to review Board rules 463.30, 471.6, 473.1, and 473.2 prior to applying for licensure.  Prospective applicants who qualify for licensure under the Board's alternative licensing requirements, Board rule 463.30, should contact the Licensing Division to discuss the processes unique to licensure under this rule.

Military service members and veterans are also encouraged to review their eligibility for benefits under the Montgomery G.I. Bill and Post-9/11 G.I. Bill prior to applying for licensure.  Military service members and veterans meeting certain criteria are eligible for reimbursement of certain licensing examination fees under these programs.  A general overview of the program benefits, as well as instructions for applying for beneifts can be found on the Texas Veterans Commission website.


Information for Prospective Applicants with Criminal Backgrounds

Pursuant to Chapter 53 of the Texas Occupations Code and Board rule 469.7, the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists can provide an individual with a preliminary evaluation of his or her criminal background to determine if the individual's background would prevent him or her from obtaining licensure with this Board.

To request such a determination, an individual must submit a complete Application for Criminal History Evaluation Letter, along with the correct fee and any supporting documentation.  The Board cannot conduct an evaluation without all of these items.

Individuals who intend to to submit an Application for Criminal History Evaluation Letter should wait until they have submitted the application before completing their fingerprint criminal history check.  The Board is prohibited by state and federal law from accessing an individual’s criminal history record information until that individual has submitted an application.  Individuals who obtain their fingerprint criminal history check prior to submitting an application will be removed from the Board’s access que in the DPS system and may suffer delays in the evaluation process as a result thereof.

The Application for Criminal History Evaluation Letter is available for download from the Board's Forms webpage.


Apply for Full or Provisional Licensure Online via PLUS

The Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists is excited to offer applicants the opportunity to apply for full or provisional licensure online via the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) Psychology Licensure Universal System (PLUS).  The PLUS program can be used by any applicant who is seeking licensure, certification, or registration in any participating state, province, or territory in the United States or Canada.  For more information on applying in Texas via the PLUS system, please click here.

To apply using the PLUS, download the PLUS System - General Application form by clicking on the Forms menu item to the left.  Complete and submit the application, along with the correct fee to the Board's Licensing Division.  In addition to the Texas application fee, the PLUS has a one-time $75.00* fee. *ASPPB is currently conducting fee assessments and has reduced the standard $200.00 fee to $75.00 for a six-month period in Texas. This fee assessment will conclude on February 15, 2017 and the PLUS fee is subject to change thereafter.


No Pre-Evaluation or Pre-Approval of Education, Training, or Experience

Please be aware that the Board does not pre-evaluate applications, education, or training, nor does the Board pre-approve any training or experience.  It is incumbent upon each individual seeking licensure to ensure that his or her education, training, and experience meets the requirements of the Psychologists' Licensing Act and Board rules.

Applicants may contact agency staff with questions about licensure, if they are unable to find an answer to their question after reviewing the information in the application packet, the Psychologists' Licensing Act, and the Board rules.  Please review these resources carefully before contacting the Board.

 


Acrobat Reader is used to read a PDF file and is freely available for download at Adobe.